On May 16 this year, the State Museum of Archaeology Chemnitz with the catchy nickname of “SMAC” opened its doors to the public. The museum is located in a former department store, Kaufhaus Schocken, which has been painstakingly restored by Atelier Brueckner to its original design from 1927. Not only are the artifacts and the contents of the new museum impressive but also its architecture is worth the journey. The museum, designed originally by world-renowned architect Erich Mendelsohn, is an important addition to a beautiful group of buildings in the region. The museum hosts weekly architecture tours and information sessions on Mendelsohn and his colleagues. The other classical buildings include the iconic museum Haus Schminke by Hans Scharoun, the Church of Reconciliation in Leizpig as well as the newly-opened Konrad Wachsmann House in the nearby town of Niesky.

Comment